2023 Ryder Cup tee times, TV coverage, viewer’s guide, schedule and everything else you need to know


After plenty of international intrigue, Fred Couples’ gaffes and a late-breaking Sergio Garcia last gasp to play this year in Rome, the Ryder Cup is finally here, and the multinational event has never had higher stakes. The Americans, led by Captain Zach Johnson, will make the trek to Marco Simone in Italy and attempt to shatter a 30-year winless drought on European soil despite the odds (and playing conditions) firmly against them. Luke Donald and the European team are looking to keep the good times rolling at home and take back the Ryder Cup after a lopsided 2021 defeat at Whistling Straits.

This is the 44th iteration of the biennial event and, as always, the first team of pros to reach 14½ points will claim victory (a 14-14 tie means the Euros retain the Cup, just like at the Solheim Cup last weekend). The opening ceremony is set for Thursday, Sept. 28, and the matches play out Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

The Ryder Cup is a biennial competition between two 12-man teams, one made up of American players and the other made up of European players. Each team has a captain who gets six captain’s picks and creates the pairings for the competition.

The first Ryder Cup, which was played in 1927, was between the United States and Great Britain. That’s the way the matches were contested until 1973, when players from Ireland were added to the Great Britain team. In 1979, all players from continental Europe began to be included on the team. Since then, it has been America versus Europe.

This year’s squads are as follows:

Scottie Scheffler
Wyndham Clark
Brian Harman
Patrick Cantlay
Max Homa
Xander Schauffele
Sam Burns
Rickie Fowler
Collin Morikawa
Brooks Koepka
Jordan Spieth
Justin Thomas

Rory McIlroy
Jon Rahm
Robert MacIntyre
Viktor Hovland
Tyrrell Hatton
Matt Fitzpatrick
Ludvig Aberg
Tommy Fleetwood
Nicolai Hojgaard
Shane Lowry
Justin Rose
Sepp Straka

The winner will receive no prize money but monumental bragging rights for the next two years.

Friday, Sept. 29: Foursomes and fourball from 1:30 a.m.-noon, USA Network

Saturday, Sept. 30: Foursomes and fourball from 1:30-3 a.m. on USA Network and 3 a.m.-noon on NBC.

Sunday, Oct. 1: 12 singles matches from 5:30 a.m.-1 p.m., NBC

All live coverage on NBC streams on Peacock, RyderCup.com and the official Ryder Cup app. Those streaming platforms will also have separate “featured match” coverage on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Check back for updates on the specific matches that will be shown.

Specific tee times have yet to be posted for the matches. Here are the sessions that will be played:

Friday morning foursomes: 1:35 a.m., 1:50 a.m., 2:05 a.m., 2:20 a.m.

Friday afternoon four-balls: 6:25 a.m., 6:40 a.m., 6:55 a.m., 7:10 a.m.

Saturday morning foursomes: 1:35 a.m., 1:50 a.m., 2:05 a.m., 2:20 a.m.

Saturday afternoon four-balls: 6:25 a.m., 6:40 a.m., 6:55 a.m., 7:10 a.m.

Sunday singles: 5:35 a.m., 5:47 a.m., 5:59 a.m., 6:11 a.m., 6:23 a.m., 6:35 a.m., 6:47 a.m., 6:59 a.m., 7:11 a.m., 7:23 a.m., 7:35 a.m., 7:47 a.m.

The American team leads 27-14.

Year, Site, Score, Winner

2021, Whistling Straits, 19-9, USA

2018, Le Golf National, 17½,-10½, Europe

2016, Hazeltine National GC, 17-11, USA

2014, Gleneagles Resort, 16½,-11½, Europe

2012, Medinah CC, 14½-13½, Europe

2010, Celtic Manor Resort, 14½-13½, Europe

2008, Valhalla Golf Club, 16½-11½, USA

2006, The K Club, Straffan, 18½-9½, Europe

2004, Oakland Hills CC, 18½-9½, Europe

2002, The Belfry, 15½-12½, Europe

1999, The Country Club, 14½-13½, USA

1997, Valderrama GC, 14½-13½, Europe

1995, Oak Hill CC, 14½-13½, Europe

1993, The Belfry, 15-13, USA

1991, The Ocean Course, 14½-13½, USA

1989, The Belfry, 14-14, Tie (Europe retains Cup)

1987, Muirfield Village GC, 15-13, Europe

1985, The Belfry, 16½-11½, Europe

1983, PGA National GC, 14½-13½, USA

1981, Walton Health GC, 18½-9½, USA

1979, The Greenbrier, 17-11, USA

1977, Royal Lytham & St. Annes, 12½-7½, USA

1975, Laurel Valley GC, 21-11, USA

1973, Muirfield, 19-13, USA

1971, Old Warson CC, 18½-13½, USA

1969, Royal Birkdale GC, 16-16, (U.S. retains the Cup)

1967, Champions GC, 23½-8½, USA

1965, Royal Birkdale GC, 19½-12½, USA

1963, East Lake CC, 23-9, USA

1961, Royal Lytham & St. Annes, 14½-9½, USA

1959, Eldorado CC, 8½-3½, USA

1957, Lindrick GC, 7½-4½, Great Britain

1955, Thunderbird CC, 8-4, USA

1953, Wentworth GC, 6½-5½, USA

1951, Pinehurst CC, 9½-2½, USA

1949, Ganton GC, 7-5, USA

1947, Portland Golf Club, 11-1, USA

1937, Southport & Ainsdale GC, 8-4, USA

1935, Ridgewood CC, 9-3, USA

1933, Southport & Ainsdale GC, 6½-5½, Great Britain

1931, Scioto CC, 9-3, USA

1929, Moortown GC, 7-5, Great Britain

1927, Worcester CC, 9½-2½, USA

Articles You May Like

Tiger up 430 spots in world ranking following Hero
Rory says Ryder Cup will need to include Rahm
Scheffler leads, Tiger pleased with health at Hero
PGA Tour unpacks ShotLink ‘bugs’ in Bahamas
Scheffler wins, Tiger finishes 18th at Hero World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *